International Conference on the Seesaw Mechanism
10-11 June 2004
Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris


Bulletin Accomodation program participants Practical information

On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the seesaw mechanism, we are organizing an international conference on the Seesaw Mechanism and the Neutrino Mass at the Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris on June 10-11, 2004. The conference will be followed by the XXIst International Conference on Neutrino Physics and Astrophysics (Neutrino 2004), to be held at the Collège de France, Paris on June 14-19, 2004.

The aim is to assess the progress since the invention of the seesaw mechanism in 1979 by M. Gell-Mann, P. Ramond, R. Slansky and T. Yanagida, and to review the recent theoretical developments in the understanding of the observed pattern in neutrino masses and mixings. Observable implications of the seesaw mechanism like leptogenesis or lepton flavour violation in supersymmetric theories will also be addressed, and the key aspects of the vast experimental programme aiming at determining the neutrino parameters and properties will be reviewed.

The number of participants is limited to 100. The programme will consist of plenary talks only, and proceedings of the conference with reprints of the original articles on the seesaw mechanism will be edited.

  International Advisory Committee

John N. Bahcall (Princeton), Riccardo Barbieri (Pisa), Pierre Binétruy (Paris), Alain Blondel (Geneva), Raymond Davis Jr. (Long Island), Murray Gell-Mann (Santa Fe), Boris Kayser (Fermilab), Arthur B. MacDonald (Kingston), Koichiro Nishikawa (Kyoto), Pierre Ramond (Gainesville), Graham G. Ross (Oxford), Alexei Yu. Smirnov (Trieste), Yoji Totsuka (Tsukuba), Stanley G. Wojcicki (Stanford), Lincoln Wolfenstein (Pittsburgh), Tsutomu Yanagida (Tokyo). .

  Local Organizing Committee

  Pierre Binétruy (APC, Paris VII), Jean-Eric Campagne (LAL, Orsay), Isabelle Cossin (LPNHE, Paris VI & VII), Michel Cribier (DAPNIA Saclay & APC), Jacques Dumarchez (LPNHE, Paris VI & VII), Stéphane Lavignac (SPhT Saclay), Jean Orloff (LPC Clermont-Ferrand), Daniel Vignaud (PCC Collège de France & APC).


  Sponsored by

 Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique (CEA), Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS).


Conference secretary

Isabelle Cossin, SEESAW25 
4 Place Jussieu, 75252 Paris Cédex 05, France 
tel 33 (0)1 44 27 68 95; fax 33 (0)1 44 27 46 38 

Jacques Dumarchez
Last modified: Sat Dec 20 18:15:42 MEST 2003